Hellenic and Minoan Greece

Who could go to Athens and not see the famed Acropolis and all its installations? Who could go to Crete and not visit the Palace of Knossos? Aye, Aye!

I knew I was going to see ruins and I read up before going so I’d know what I was looking at.  Perhaps I set my expectations a little higher than I should because I secretly (now not a secret) found the experience of Acropolis a little underwhelming. Or maybe I was wrong to be looking forward to being awed by architecture instead of what created it and what it stood for. Minds. Greek minds. Those of Socrates, Plato, Aristotle. For the Parthenon, Pericles. He favoured democracy and wanted the Parthenon to represent the triumph of civilisation over forces of barbarism, and wanted to be remembered for it. And he is. Very typical of change leadership, if done correctly.

Of the buildings in the Acropolis, I like the Caryatids in the Erechtheion best – six statues of women that stood in wind and rain over centuries supporting the weight of the roof above them. The Erechtheion was supposedly lavish in design – seen in the Caryatids but not much else now. Which was probably why a Turk governor , when the Turks were in power, used it to house his harem back then. Luxury of the R21 kind.


Before Hellenic Greece were the Minoans. How could anyone not be besotted with the tale of the Minotaur and its Labyrinth? Palace of Knossos was the origin of the tale. Not much of the maze was left considering that it was built around 2000 B.C., but the palace complex was interesting in that it gave visitors a good feel of what it was like to live in a place like that. With a bit of reading up, you can go through the place without a guide, though I had to look up the meaning of the double-axe symbol (aka Labrys) so used in the Palace – its presence on an object would prevent it from getting destroyed/killed. Coincidentally, there is a brand of medicated oil widely used in Asia that has the same symbol – I use it for aches. Kills them! Ha!



I would love to know about the little stories that sometimes accompany a guided visit to the sites – like who lived in the Erechthenion before it was used for purposes not befitting a temple and why double-axes were used in Knossos. But it’s okay, I can guess or come up with theories of my own so I’ll never look at a bottle of medicated oil quite the same way again.

“Mighty indeed are the marks and monuments we have left. Men of the future will wonder at us, as all men do today.” – Pericles, 430 B.C.

Have your say!

