Punctuation and Palindromes

I am in the midst of developing lesson extensions – in the occasion that I need to give my students something further to think about. 

While lounging on a sofa on a lazy Saturday morning, I came across a Facebook post from Grammarly.com, and I immediately thought about how I could use that to make learning punctuation fun. Job hazard.

But I wanted to write it down somewhere in case I forget again. The WordPress app is next to my Facebook one. How convenient.

My type-scribbles:

Some self-discipline is required to apply punctuation. No critical thinking needed since it really isn’t rocket science. 

 It can be ignored when you want a laugh or if you would like to turn into a cannibal : Let us eat Grandma.

But when do you get to ignore punctuation?

Palindromes. They are words, phrases or number sequences that read the same backwards and forwards – spaces and punctuation within are not too important. 

1. Hannah

2. Race car

3. Sit on a potato pan, Otis.

4. Was it a car or a cat I saw?

5. Dennis, Nell, Edna, Leon, Nedra, Anita, Rolf, Nora, Alice, Carol, Leo, Jane, Reed, Dena, Dale, Basil, Rae, Penny, Lana, Dave, Denny, Lena, Ida, Bernadette, Ben, Ray, Lila, Nina, Jo, Ira, Mara, Sara, Mario, Jan, Ina, Lily, Arne, Bette, Dan, Reba, Diane, Lynn, Ed, Eva, Dana, Lynne, Pearl, Isabel, Ada, Ned, Dee, Rena, Joel, Lora, Cecil, Aaron, Flora, Tina, Arden, Noel, and Ellen sinned.

Have your say!

