Ordinary song for SEA Games 2015

The 28th SEA Games will be held here come June 2015, and we are expecting a mighty horde of people to descend upon this tiny island to run and play.

Good. We are really doing everything we possibly can for SG50. Every government body is engaged in one or more events to make sure they have ingredients in the magic cauldron for a celebration so explosive it will rattle your bones for a long time to come.

In the midst of this, there are local songwriters, musicians and singers who pitch in to make the event merrier through song. They usually fail miserably because they try too hard and receive critique so harsh I wonder why they bother if not for love of their art.

Also, political correctness usually sabotages art. That is why the songs that emerge annually for our National Day always sounds like Napoleon singing the 10 commandments, and the routine has been scrapped for good.

Good riddance, I say.

So, where am I going with this? I heard one of the songs made for the Games the other day.

SJ likes music and listens to new stuff often, and made me listen to a new one he discovered. So I did, grudgingly so because we have different tastes and I don’t normally like what he does.

But this one I liked – tune and lyrics. I wondered out loud who was behind it…a new American band?

Aiyoh, I was so taken aback when SJ told me they were local. Written by Amir Masoh and performed by The Sam Willows for the Games.

It had a melody, heart and is not forced to fit the occasion, a rare combi by local standards. SJ bought the song on iTunes – first ever song purchase.

I am both pleased and quite proud. 🙂
The spirit of SG50 is perhaps getting to me.

http://www.songsofthegames.com/songs/ordinary

IMG_3619.PNG

Have your say!

