Someone asked me about my personality…

Was ISTJ…became INTJ…now INFJ.

If you’re familiar with the Myers-Briggs Personality Test, you’d know that I was originally an Inspector. Then work made me a Mastermind, and then right brain took over and I crept over to Counsellor.

In the transition from R&D to teaching, a lot must have happened. I’ve been wondering.

Is there such a thing as one being overly logical, keeping mind over matter so much that the heart never quite got the opportunity to speak? Or did the heart drown in the chase for success defined by others? There must be an override switch. And I must have activated it somehow.

So the other day the new teachers were rounded up for a preparatory class, and our facilitator, who was a very experienced (retired) educator himself, shared a poem with us that meant quite a lot to him:

I took a piece of plastic clay,

And idly fashioned it one day,

And as my fingers pressed it still,

It moved and yielded at my will.

I came again when days were past,

The bit of clay was hard at last,

The form I gave it still it bore,

But I could change that form no more.

I took a piece of living clay,

And gently formed it day by day,

And moulded with my power and art,

A young child’s soft and yielding heart.

I came again when days were gone,

It was a man I looked upon,

That early impress still he wore,

And I could change it never more.

– Anonymous

I felt a tiny stirring in my chest. It spoke.

Yep, the override switch was pushed.

IMG_0179.JPG

Have your say!

