Chinese Braised Nuts – Homemade!

I am now responsible for my lunches and three weekday dinners a week. That being the case, and with my weak repertoire of cooking know-how, I have been diligently looking up books and the internet for recipes to experiment with.

I stick to one-dish meals that require no frying because I am best friends with the oven and an avid fan of clean cooking. Billowing smoke tends to show its face when I use the frying pan and with it, oil particles. They are a menace and always overstay their welcome. I cannot deal with the oil slick (arghhh!) in the kitchen after.

Baking soda and Febreeze don’t work all the time, and waiting it out is not an option for me. But stove top boiling/steaming/stewing are all good!

I love the braised nuts that some Chinese restaurants serve as appetisers before the meal, and wanted to recreate it at home. I did some sleuthing and made some adjustments here and there, and this is the result:

Processed with Moldiv

Hubby gave the thumbs up ๐Ÿ™‚ Yay!

NMS’ Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 300g raw groundnuts, shelled, with skin on; Soaked in water overnight and strained after
  • 10 pcs Shitake mushrooms; Soaked in water till soft and drained
  • 2 tsp allspice powder (or five spice powder which is more pungent; but allspice was in my fridge so I used it)
  • 3 tbsp light soy sauce
  • 3 tbsp dark soy sauce (the sweet variety; or add 1 tsp sugar if the sweet variety is not available)
  • 3 tbsp fine white sugar
  • 3 pcs Star Anise
  • 4 cloves Garlic, smashed (or 3 tsp chopped Garlic)
  • 1 stick Cinnamon
  • Water

Directions:

  • Put everything except mushrooms into a heavy bottomed pot
  • Add water till contents of pot are just covered
  • Bring to a boil
  • Lower fire to allow contents to simmer over 1-1.5 hours; Check every 15-20 mins ย to ensure that pot does not dry out (add water if necessary); Stir regularly to ensure good mix.
  • In the final 30 mins, add the mushrooms. Allow to simmer till mushrooms are cooked and nuts are sufficiently soft and crunch to your liking.
2 thoughts on “Chinese Braised Nuts – Homemade!

Have your say!

