Where I Lived, and What I Lived For

“I went into the woods because I wanted to live deliberately. I wanted to live deep and suck out all the marrow of life … to put to rout all that was not life; and not, when I came to die, discover that I had not lived.”

Funny how some bits of words put together from a long time ago can find a way to ring a bell so true at the moment you least expect it to. It’s almost like a gentle nudge to tell you to wake up and smell the roses. Whatever you are dozing off doing.

I pondered about the choices I’ve made in my life; I have had crossroads that I had to get over – some were obvious, others were painful and then some I leapt across in blind faith. But I think most worked out in the end, and I would make the same choices all over again in a second. I think I have been blessed in my journey thus far that I might have to celebrate thanksgiving a few times over this year. Prayers for the future too.

My next steps are due, and some apprehension is expected. Not all from me but from people around. Not sure how to handle that yet but I have travel on my mind. 🙂 I guess negativity would be a logical reaction given that they do not know what I know. I am not telling till it’s done so as to not jinx it. Yes, I’m superstitious that way. *tee hee* I’d probably get worrywarts casting doubt even after they find out what I know but these should be family ensuring I’ve decided properly. Which is nice. I guess.

I have also developed a mantra that works for me in most situations: One should never leave home without humility, a sense of wonder and grit: To learn – wherever you go, whomever you meet, whatever you do for there are always others smarter than thou; To find what motivates and inspires you because that ignites passion and keeps it burning; And to get up when you fall, don’t give up but know when you have had enough – there is a difference.

I suppose that is why words like the ones above from Dead Poets’ Society can find the quantum pathway that leads straight to the real estate of my mind and lodge itself there. The actual verse from Thoreau’s book is longer and frankly a bit more complex, but with poetic license, the one here works too.

What started me rambling though was the news of Robin William’s demise. I join many in bidding the brilliant actor and comedian a sad goodbye.

Have your say!

